PDA

View Full Version : Question about oiling

karisaf
March 23rd, 2009, 10:30 PM
I am new to using oil on my hair. So far I've been using oil on damp hair after washing, and I do like that. From what I understand oil does not actually moisturize the hair, but rather seals in the moisture. Now, here is my question...I have seen that people here like to heavily oil their hair the night before they wash, or oil their hair before they put it up. I'm confused as to why this would be beneficial? Can someone explain more about oiling to me?

Briar
March 23rd, 2009, 10:32 PM
For me, heavily oiling before I wash is actually a protective coat. Instead of stripping too deep into my hair, the conditioner and shampoo just take off the oil I just put on - which leaves my actual hair's moisture pretty much alone. (Not a scientific opinion on what the oil does. :) )

karisaf
March 23rd, 2009, 10:33 PM
For me, heavily oiling before I wash is actually a protective coat. Instead of stripping too deep into my hair, the conditioner and shampoo just take off the oil I just put on - which leaves my actual hair's moisture pretty much alone. (Not a scientific opinion on what the oil does. :) )

Ah....that makes a lot of sense! Can I ask how much oil you use?

Heavenly Locks
March 23rd, 2009, 10:33 PM
It depends on the oil. Coconut oil is the only oil that I know of that actually does penetrate the hair shaft...( I don't know about others like jojoba ect.)

LHGypsyRose
March 23rd, 2009, 10:48 PM
I love using oils, and for me they give my hair some nice slip and shine.

lynnala
March 24th, 2009, 01:09 AM