PDA

View Full Version : Cosmetic head for braid practice?

LutraLutra
March 12th, 2009, 03:51 AM
I love the look of braids, but I've never had long hair so I'm a total braiding novice. My hair is now almost long enough to try out some braiding techniques (except for those pesky too short layers!).

I've bought a fabulous book (http://www.amazon.co.uk/Hair-Braiding-Styles-Scrunchies-Accessory/dp/1570540187/ref=sr_1_6?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1236850531&sr=1-6)and I'd love to get some practise in while my hair grows those last few inches, but I don't have access to a docile longhaired child/friend/significant other.

What I think I'm looking for is some kind of cosmetic head. A nice, inanimate long haired, human head sized thing. I'd use a longhaired doll, but that would be too tiny to see what I was doing.

Problem is, because I don't know what it's called, I don't know what to search for online.

Do such things exist? Are they expensive? Is there anything else I could use?

TIA.

Hatsumomo
March 12th, 2009, 04:07 AM
Google comes up with some for "salon mannequin", I'd guess Ebay might too:)

akka naeda
March 12th, 2009, 04:10 AM
I don't know if they exist, but I don't think they'd be much help. Looking at what you are plaiting with your hands in front of you is not the same as plaiting with your hands behind your head.

I'd suggest you just practise, practise, practise on your hair now, while it is short, and it will be so much easier once it is longer. It may well look dreadful to begin with (not for wearing out of the house!), but after a bit you'll find it easy and the finished result will look better.

Finoriel
March 12th, 2009, 04:35 AM
Yup, seconding akka naeda.