PDA

View Full Version : help with 5 year olds tangly hair!!!

seethruugirl
March 1st, 2009, 11:54 AM
Hello everyone! I am a newbie/lurker to this site...trying to shuffle through all of the great info! My daughter and I BOTH have super thick hair and both is pretty dry...we get regular trims and I have been hennaing my hair and doing co washes on both of our hair. The henna has done wonders for my hair and the softness and mositure of it allthough I could always use more....but, I can't henna her hair since she's 5....I try to braid it at night when its wet because she is such a wild sleeper that she wakes up in the morning with her hair in knots!!!! I don't know what to do...its a big fight in the morning to get it combed through...right now we co with dove conditioners...I'm open to homeade/organic storebought things I just have no clue what to use or what to do. I would love for both of us to have shiny healthy soft hair.... I would appreciate any suggestions! Also, our hair is mid back...BSL for me and about the same for her. Thank you! Robyn

neon-dream
March 1st, 2009, 11:56 AM
Have you tried coconut oil?
That did wonders for my tangles!

OhioLisa
March 1st, 2009, 12:02 PM
Maybe wash her hair in the mornings so you can comb her hair with conditioner in it. It would definitely give you enough slip to get the tangles out easier. Just an idea. :)

earthdancer
March 1st, 2009, 12:27 PM
Have you tried using a silk pillow for her at night, in addition to the braids? It allows hair to slide without getting mussed up.