PDA

View Full Version : Waxy Hair!!!!

Susana
February 22nd, 2009, 11:19 PM
Hi guys!!

I am a WO girl, but I am kinda new at it (since Jan 6.09) its worked great, except that I have hard water and right after I rinse my hair is all waxy. Does anyone now if this eventually stops happening? The waxyness goes away after some time (like a few hours...but I was just wondering if it stops happening)

And on a nostalgic note, I got tangles on my hair and I was afraid I had damaged it when I was untangling it (it was very tangled) so I cut like 1-2 inches off :(

Thanks for listening guys :)

Katze
February 23rd, 2009, 03:03 AM
Hm, for me, after a couple of months of WO my hair got waxy and would not get clean again. I finally washed using just sulfate shampoo, had happy shiny smooth hair again, and decided my hair needs sulfates.

I like WO as an in between wash - I alternate WO with shampooing, and alternate sulfate and no-sulfate 'poos, but for my fine hair and tending-towards-greasy scalp, it does not get it clean long term...

Vinegar rinses might help if you have your mind set on WO, though...make sure you do lots of scalp massaging with the diluted vinegar on your scalp, and try to work the sebum downwards... hth...

Heidi_234
February 23rd, 2009, 03:17 AM
Miracle Water (http://archive.longhaircommunity.com/showthread.php?t=51184), perhaps?

SweetPea88
February 23rd, 2009, 08:18 AM
I don't WO myself, but perhaps a vinegar rinse would help things?

Anje
February 23rd, 2009, 08:26 AM
I've noticed that the waxyness doesn't completely go away (since sebum is waxy, after all), but it lessens a bit with time on WO.

I'll second the diluted vinegar rinse. For me, this removes quite a lot of excess sebum and gets hair quite clean. It also seems like it'll help prevent mineral buildup from the hard water, but I don't know whether this is really the case.

Susana
February 23rd, 2009, 08:44 AM
Thank you so much for your prompt responses guys :)