PDA

View Full Version : hi - newbie here with a problem

ratgirldjh
February 20th, 2009, 11:22 AM
i've been a lurker for a while. i have fine graying hair (i'm 49) and it tends to be dry. i gave up shampoo and conditioner a couple of years ago and now am mostly poo bar or WO. i do use VCO for conditioning and very weak ACV rinses.

my normal hair washing schedule is once a week. but when i get nervous (like lately) i tend to wash my hair too often. i have been washing my hair with soap or shampoo bars almost every day and the ends have gotten very dry and brittle. my hair is even breaking again :(

so - i co'd my hair the other night and i hate the way it feels now. does anyone have any ideas for me on how to get it back to normal? i know - stop washing it so much - but any quick fixes?

thanks
djh

DragonLady
February 20th, 2009, 12:55 PM
Maybe mix up some moisturizing conditioner with water, then spray on your ends a few times a day? That, and maybe a bit of coconut oil on them to help keep the moisture in?

LHGypsyRose
February 20th, 2009, 08:46 PM
Yeah and if what DragonLady says doesn't work after a while then you may have to do a few light dustings(small trimmings of the ends) here and there to get the ends feeling healthy again and lessen the breakage. Good luck and welcome to the forum:)

WaimeaWahine
February 20th, 2009, 11:57 PM
i've been a lurker for a while. i have fine graying hair (i'm 49) and it tends to be dry. i gave up shampoo and conditioner a couple of years ago and now am mostly poo bar or WO. i do use VCO for conditioning and very weak ACV rinses.

my normal hair washing schedule is once a week. but when i get nervous (like lately) i tend to wash my hair too often. i have been washing my hair with soap or shampoo bars almost every day and the ends have gotten very dry and brittle. my hair is even breaking again :(