PDA

View Full Version : My first hairstick = rare compliment from dh

Kerynna
February 20th, 2009, 07:31 AM
UPDATED - see photo post #17.

I've been using a pair of cheap plastic sticks from Target to experiment with buns, but yesterday I got my first real hairstick (wood with a decorative topper) in the mail and dh was curious about the package. I opened it and opened the box and he said, "What are those, deadly weapons?" and I laughed and told him that now that my hair is getting longer it is heavy and I'm looking for comfortable ways of holding it up. I told him that I have decided to grow my hair to here (pointed to my lower mid-back) and he said, "Ooooooh! Nice!" :eyebrows:

So then I gathered my hair and twisted it and formed it into a sloppy cinnamon bun (I'm still very new at this and I was surprised at myself for doing it without a mirror and for dh to see) and I put the stick in and held my hands out as if to say "voila!" He smiled and nodded approvingly and I said, "It's not a very good bun but you get the idea." And he said "Why isn't it a good bun? It looks really nice!"

You have to understand, my husband *rarely* makes compliments. He just doesn't do that. I am fine with it because I had a lot of bad experiences with men who used flowery words and flattery with me all the time. So when my dh says something nice, it floors me because I know he really means it. :)

So, a small hair success for me! Yay!

lora410
February 20th, 2009, 07:52 AM
Woot Woot. My fiancée is the same way. he doesn't compliment me or bring me card and flowers often. But when he does it means alot. Congrats on your first compliment from DH

Amberlee
February 20th, 2009, 08:08 AM
It was a very sweet compliment. My DH is the same way.

Silverlox
February 20th, 2009, 08:12 AM
Yay for you!!! :rockerdud:joy::cheer::happydance:

Enjoy, both your new stick and your nice compliment.

Hehe.. You're gonna be hooked on those sticks now. Just like the rest of us.. :D