PDA

View Full Version : Planning my first CO wash. ?s

Heavenly Locks
February 20th, 2009, 02:05 AM
I've decided to try replacing some of my CWC washes with CO washes. :) I am currently using Pantene Beautiful Lengths S&C which are very 'coney'. Will I need to do a clarifier before I try a CO wash?

I am wanting to go a little easier on my hair and scalp and the PBL have cones as well as SLS in it. I am experiencing that scalp gunk that I made a thread about earlier and I wonder if this might help.

Can you go back and forth with CO and CWC or should I just switch all together? I am washing 2x a week and mostly it's every 5 days. :)

I just got some Suave naturals coconut for a buck! Yay! I plan to slather it on and clip it up in the shower while I shave and all that. I'm guessing it will be about 10 minutes, is that long enough?

Thanks for the help.

CrystalStar
February 20th, 2009, 02:50 AM
With the switching back and forth it's up to you really I'd guess. I'm no expert on CO but I just completely switched over one day ( 2 weeks ago :p) and havn't looked back. I did a wash with shampoo and then a CO wash, and although it left my hair a little dry after the first one it got rid of any build up problems I may have had :)

Also, I don't think ya need a full 10 mins, 5 is more than enough with the conditioner I use but I dunno bout Suave so do whatever works for ya! :p

Carolyn
February 20th, 2009, 05:44 AM
Yes you can switch back and forth. I do that all the time. I don't use something as cone-y as Pantene but I still get a little build up. You might want to clarify and then give CO a try. 10 minutes should be fine. If you are really greasy you can massage your scalp with the pads of your fingers and work the grease out.

amiaow
February 20th, 2009, 04:05 PM