View Full Version : a redhead again! successful removal of indigo+dye

twilight
February 8th, 2009, 09:24 AM
disclaimer: this post is for educational and/or inspirational purposes only; attempt to rereate results at your own risk. please use common sense and *think critically about what you are going to do* before you put any chemicals on your long, presumably healthy hair!

a bit of background: i have been growing out my hair from a "long-pixie cut" since october 2004 (with regular, styled trims for the first 2.5 years). between now and october 2004 my hair has been bleach blonde to darkest brown and back again several times using conventional 2 part semi/demi-permanent dyes with 10-vol or lower peroxide (no box color). since 2006 i have been using henna, indigo, and amla, occasionally interspersed with chemical dye, to acheive a medium- to dark-brown. i switched to henna-only about 1 year ago and ever since have been living with a stiff demarcation line between dark reddish brown and henna-red about 8-inches down the length (my natural color is a darkish blonde with some strawberry tones, so i get a very coppery red color from henna). i thought i would just try to grow out the indigo, since much of my length will need trimming eventually, but i got impatient... however i know quite a bit about hair dye chemistry and did NOT jump into this experiment blindly! also my hair has proven itself to be tough in the past; e.g., i have never experienced "falling out" from bleach, even on multiple applications.