PDA

View Full Version : Alternative hair toy uses?

Smokie
March 29th, 2008, 12:05 AM
Now, we've discussed hairsticks as weapons and elastics as rubberbands to hold things... But what about other uses?

I hate to admit it, but the other day I lent one of my coworkers (he's awesome and has long hair) a pair of cheap plastic hair sticks from Claire's to use as.. yes... chopsticks. He had asian food of some sort and just didn't feel right eating it with a fork. I had a spare set of cheap sticks in my bag. Yes, I made him wash them before and after use.

I've also been known to tug the sticks from my hair (again, cheap ones, I wouldn't do this with my Nightshade sticks... the metal fork from her on the other hand....) to aid in opening a package when I can't find any scissors or a knife.

Tonight was the crowning glory though. I work in tech support and we keep a wireless router around for our personal computers to browse with (soooo limited on the work computers). When I came in tonight, I discovered the router was completely hosed. Wouldn't give anyone an IP wired or wireless. This meant no forums for me tonight. And I'm the only one here after 1am on Friday nights. Very bad to deprive me of my intarwebz when I have no people around to entertain me. Powercycling the modem and router didn't do any good. So I borrowed a length of cat5 (ethernet cord) from the guys in the NOC and took my laptop over to the router. It was then that I realized I didn't have anything on me to push the teensy little reset button with. Normally I would reach for a pen, and if I didn't have a pen, I'd grab a bobbypin or safety pin. But I had none of those. So I pulled my bloodwood Etta Mae fork out of my hair and used it. Worked like a dream. And I fixed the router in under five minutes too.

So tell me, what strange uses have you found for your hairtoys?

prosperina
March 29th, 2008, 12:12 AM
Jaw clips work nicely as chip bag clips. Of course the chips usually don't make it that long. :D