PDA

View Full Version : Hello (and questions) from a lurking member.

time4mercy
March 28th, 2008, 10:00 PM
Hi everyone,

I’ve been a member for a while, but never really posted. I’m dying to ask a couple of newb questions, so am taking the plunge. (Hopefully it’s okay to post questions as well as intros here.)

First, an intro: I’m a 35 year old girl/woman/chick/whatever from British Columbia, Canada. I work in law enforcement, and won’t post my name or too many other details for that reason. Please don’t be offended. I have a really unusual name too, so I’m doubly scr*wed!

My hair is naturally 1a/1b//F//ii, but due to a perm about 9 months ago, it’s more of a 2c/F/ii at the moment. It’s BSL, and my goal (subject to change) is waist/hip. I do CO washes 3 - 4 mornings a week, and do heavy oilings the night before a wash. The lower half of my hair is drier than I’d like, but I haven’t been really strict about the oilings until very recently, so hopefully that will improve.

I’m trying to get in the habit of keeping it up as much as possible, which is starting to get easier with the increasing length. (My hair is very slippery and hard to “do,” and I am not naturally talented at it, either. . . it’s been a hard road.) I just figured out how to make a hairstick work, and am eagerly awaiting delivery of two carved wooden sticks I bought on eBay. If those work out, I will be heading to Etsy for some more shopping. The next frontier: forks!

Here’s what I’m dying to know, and haven’t been able to find out via searching:

1) I bought a halfway decent BBB after hearing rave reviews here for smoothing etc. of fine straight hair. When I use it (even near my scalp, where there is no curl), it has the opposite effect on me. I end up looking like Einstein, and my hair is full of static electricity. Am I doing something wrong? Is my hair too fine/dry/flyaway/etc. for a BBB?