PDA

View Full Version : Leave in Conditioner question

bikerblue
February 3rd, 2009, 05:28 AM
Hello

Bit of a silly question this but has anyone ever used leave in conditioner like a normal rinse out conditioner, I know folks use their normal conditioner as a leave in. what results did you get?

thanks BB

drynkinky
February 3rd, 2009, 05:52 AM
Hi bikerblue,
I'm a newbie, but as I understand it, standard conditioners are designed to be washed out, and therefore sometimes contain ingredients that are not suitable to leave in. For instance, many conditioners contain methylisothiazolinone and/or methylchloroisothiazolinone. These are preservatives and strong allergens that are OK for short application (as per standard conditioner), but definitely not OK for sustained application (as per leave-in). Much greater chance of irritation of scalp, etc.

That said, of course, it all depends on the individual, and I dare say there'll be someone along who has used these ingredients as a leave-in with happy results. Personally, though, I wouldn't recommend it. Companies get away with the maximum they can. If they don't put such ingredients in their leave-ins, it's for a reason.

drynkinky
February 3rd, 2009, 06:00 AM
bikerblue,
just re-read your post, and realize that you asked the opposite question to the one I just answered. But at least you can safely rule out all of the above :D

Never tried it myself. All I would say is that all leave-ins that I've tried - except natural oiling, etc. - have contained cones, so if cones are an issue for you then you'll have to hunt down a natural leave-in (could be pricey).

Curlsgirl
February 3rd, 2009, 06:49 AM
I think perhaps the reason you don't hear of that too often is because generally a leave-in is more expensive than a rinse-out and usually but not always a bit lighter as well.

Islandgrrl
February 3rd, 2009, 07:07 AM