PDA

View Full Version : How to wear my hair up?

GrowAlready
March 28th, 2008, 02:22 PM
Hello everyone! It is so good to see this place up and running. I didn't post much at the old place but hope to change that this time around! My question is about hairstyles. See, I am more the sporty-casual type and while I would love to have fancy hair sticks (I tried them once and ended up poking my son in the eye!), I think they are just a bit too fancy for me. The only thing I can come up with is a ponytail and a simple braid. I am not very good at doing it myself and my dh won't help me. I have got to figure something out because I plan on camping a lot this summer and my hair is just past mid back. Suggestions welcome!!! Thanks!

KajiKodomo
March 28th, 2008, 02:25 PM
How about a bun or braided bun. Both are simple and with the braided bun, it looks more complicated than it is (besides if there are any irregularities with your braid, it isn't obvious when you bun it).

Unfortunately, I can't think of many "sporty" styles. I just wear my hair in a ponytail when I have hiked in the past, but I plan on doing buns more often because it keeps my hair completely out of the way. I would braid it if it weren't for these stupid layers. Haha!

Hope that helps!

Xanthippe
March 28th, 2008, 03:13 PM
The first thing I thought of for camping was a French braid. Can you do one of these? It stays a lot longer in my hair than a regular braid.

Here's a good tutorial for French braiding on yourself: http://dreamweaverbraiding.com/braids/self_french.htm

Also, you can divide your hair in half along the part and make two French braids for even tighter control.

atlantaz3
March 28th, 2008, 03:17 PM
Have you tried the pony tail lacers? Some people make their own, but here is one site http://www.hairwraps.net/ponytailwraps/26/18-inch-pony-tail-wrap
I'm sure there are more out there. I haven't tried these yet but will during the summer for jogging.

Curlsgirl
March 28th, 2008, 04:37 PM