PDA

View Full Version : everyday style for sun protection

pdy2kn6
January 11th, 2009, 04:31 PM
So i am moving to australia for 6 months at the end of the month (very very nervous), i am studying at a different college there, and I need a protective hairstyle for everyday, largely being in the damaging sun. I don't want to just get a hat/cap or anything, as these can result in damage from friction/rubbing/etc etc. I was thinking about maybe a silk scarf everyday wrapped around, but i worry that prolonged use would lead to damage, also i recently baught a hair stocking (like wig cap thing) but stretchy, which i am waiting for to arrive, which i plan to use when i am sleeping, but perhaps sometimes in the sun if i like the look of it. But do you guys have any other suggestions? usually i wear my hair tied back in a bun everyday, (one of them buns which you pull hair back into a scrunchie and then wrap the hair around the base of the scrunchie and then pull the scrunchie back over the hair-sorry for that poor description, i don't know what the type of bun is called?? lazy bun??). Anyway, I really don't want sun damage from the sun so need to establish a style before i arrive there. I don't want additional stress alongside having to be in a whole different country all alone. Also with regards to sunscreen products (i live in uk), often i find them to be very greasy? do any guys in the uk know any really good types? As i don't think i will have time to get some shipped from america. How do you guys (if you live in sunny places) protect your hair on a daily basis?
Thanks for the help in advance :)

JamieLeigh
January 11th, 2009, 06:18 PM
I know a lot of people hate cones with a vengeance, but it is still the best way I know of to protect your hair from UV damage, and both heat and cold.

Kebbster
January 11th, 2009, 06:49 PM
I live in Australia and Ive never found the sun too much of a problem for my hair, mind you it does depend on how much time you spend in it.