PDA

View Full Version : Uncombed Curls - I don't know what to do with them!

AprilElf
January 9th, 2009, 07:04 PM
Arrrggh! (This post is partly ranting, so sorry about that ... :o)
I'm going out this evening; nothing flash, but I want to show off my curls somehow.

I washed my hair last night, detangled, and slept with it loose. I haven't combed it since. So now I'm trying to figure out what is the best thing to do to conserve the curls. I've currently got it up in a loose pony, and I think they are already falling out a little, just from the weight on the hair. I think if I comb and not add any other product, I'm going to lose them. They might be okay, if I very gently finger-comb.

I actually have some 'King of the Mods' styling gel that I bought from Lush when I was travelling last year. I haven't used it yet. I'm wondering if I should give that a go ... but I've never used any kind of styling gel before. I'm not sure if this gel is right for my hair, anyway. But what the heck, maybe I should just try it?

Any advice for using styling gel?

Uncombed curls
http://i306.photobucket.com/albums/nn253/AprilElf/Misc%20LHC/uncombedcurls.jpg

mommy101405
January 9th, 2009, 07:07 PM
Maybe just dampen in. Take a very wide tooth comb or a pick and pull it in a half up? Just a suggestion. I'm not a curly so I don't have a huge amount of experience.

Teazel
January 9th, 2009, 07:29 PM
I'm not a curly either, obviously :P, but what if you dampened them slightly and 'plopped' - in a towel or hair-net or something? Just to defy gravity.

Demetrue
January 9th, 2009, 08:31 PM
I find that a drop of aloe vera gel mixed with a drop of jojoba oil and 2 or 3 drops of glycerine mixed together in your palms and scrunched through your hair helps bring out the waves and is also good for your hair.

jojo
January 9th, 2009, 08:33 PM
spray them with a little conditioner mixed with water, that may help.

Your curls are lovely by the way.

shell78
January 9th, 2009, 08:40 PM