PDA

View Full Version : 1A/F/I thread

Yedda
January 2nd, 2009, 03:56 PM
I thought it would be good to start a thread for my hair type, 1a/f/i. We can compare what is or is not working for our hair type.

For other 1a/f/i's, what is your current hair routine and what seems to be working for you?

rags
January 2nd, 2009, 05:21 PM
Oh, thank goodness, I am not alone!! I am a newbie, but I had long hair for twenty years before health problems made me cut it short. Now I am trying to regrow, and I came here for tips. (Since all anyone else tells me is baby fine hair hasto be short!)

The one thing I keep seeing everyone say which I am not sure will work as well for me is to stretch out washes. I am trying! I am giving it six weeks - after that we'll see. It's just that thinner fine hair kind of gets so limp....

So no routines that work yet, but I will certainly be watching this thread with interest!

chrissy-b
January 2nd, 2009, 05:30 PM
Here are two threads that might help. HERE (http://forums.longhaircommunity.com/showthread.php?t=2038&highlight=fine) and HERE (http://forums.longhaircommunity.com/showthread.php?t=17115&highlight=fine).

My hair is now a 1b since quitting cones, and I have some medium texture underneath the rest of my fine hair.

What's been working for me is a sulfate-protein-cone-free soap based shampoo followed by a cone-protein-free conditioner. I CWC twice a week and CO once a week. I use a bit of oil on my ends as a leave-in or sometimes a mix of conditioner and oil if the ends are really dry. I do a heavy oiling once a week with EVOO. I clarify and do a cassia treatment about once a month. Cassia has been wonderful in giving my limp hair volume.

WindowDressing
January 2nd, 2009, 05:35 PM
When my hair is above APL/BSL, y'all can see it is stick straight. Don't know where the slight wave originated but no one has curly hair in the clan.