PDA

View Full Version : Hairstyles for cycling

Jostar
January 1st, 2009, 05:58 AM
I am just getting into cycling and of course, safety first, I need to wear a helmet. I am having trouble getting my hat on over my hair - its even tricky with a french plait. I wonder does anyone have any suggestions for suitable hair dos to keep my hair tidy and neat while wearing my lovely helmet. Pony tails are difficult because they swish about and my hair gets super cotted. Thanks very much.

Katze
January 1st, 2009, 06:39 AM
well, I ride without a helmet like everyone else here in northern Germany, but when I am going on longer rides and want to wear a cap, either two side braids ('Heidi' style) or a French braid work best. My hair is very messy and doesn't stay in any updos well, especially in our chronically windy weather, so braids are the best. The only disadvantage, of course, are the braid kinks I get afterwards.

For my daily commute to work I usually clip my hair loosely up in a Ficcare then take it down when I get there. Headbands and/or barettes are also nice for keeping long bangs etc. out of your eyes.

As long as my hair is somewhat secured - it can be a hat or hood, too - it isn't a problem while biking...

Anje
January 1st, 2009, 10:28 AM
One idea that was tossed around recently (but which I haven't tried yet) is to get a "pony scrub" hat and wear that underneath the helmet. This appeals to me a lot because my braid likes to fall over my shoulder when I'm biking, especially when I use the drop handles, and it's a bit annoying.

Looping a low braid back up to its base and securing could work too, if the hair ends don't make you itch.

ole gray mare
January 1st, 2009, 10:39 AM
I just wear a braid. When I get to work, I take the braid out and bun my hair. It works well for me.

MusingFrog
January 1st, 2009, 03:10 PM