PDA

View Full Version : what is protein treatment

Lisa Marie
December 31st, 2008, 02:24 PM
I'm a newbie and I've seen some references to giving your hair a protein treatment, but after searching the forum I'm not finding much information. What are the indications that you might need a protein treatment? What are some common protein treatments and how often are they done? Thanks for any info!
Lisa Marie

Fantak
December 31st, 2008, 03:01 PM
The best place to start would probably be Kirin's Hair Diagnostic Tips (http://forums.longhaircommunity.com/vbjournal.php?do=article&articleid=44).

There are also many other interesting articles in the Articles section you might want to look at ^.^

After you find out what's wrong you can search the forum for the treatment you need, or if you like, post again with more details on the condition of your hair so that we can help with suggestions on what might work.

HTH ^.^

Elainehali
January 3rd, 2009, 02:09 PM
One way I give my hair protein is to dilute protein filler in a spray bottle. (Protein filler is at sallys beauty supply in store or online).

it's intended use is to fill in the more porus parts of hair so that dye takes evenly. It does work for that, but it's also the best/cheapest protein threatment I've found.

I even can get protein filler in red to enhance my color.
If you're not looking to tweak your color just get neutral protein filler.

Lisa Marie
January 4th, 2009, 04:36 AM
Thanks for the tips on protein treatment. I have looked in the articles section and don't seem to really find anything on it.

Thanks, Lisa Marie

Fantak
January 4th, 2009, 09:22 AM
Sorry you couldn't what you were looking for. I'll try again :)