PDA

View Full Version : Washing oil out of hair

Jiffa Jaffa
December 21st, 2008, 03:23 AM
Hello, complete LHC newbie here and have a few questions for all you long haired lovelies!:cheese: I desperately want to improve the shine and condition of my hair, so I regularly heavily oil my hair, either with coconut oil or almond oil and leave it in for a good few hours - however, I have to shampoo at least twice to make sure I have washed it all out, so i sort of feel like i am stripping away all the moisture that the oil has given me and my hair doesnt really feel that moisturised afterwards.
I must admit that I tend to use Lush liquid shampoos to wash out oil which have quite a lot of citrus ingredients in which may contribute to the dryness... i have SLS free shampoos but i dont think these wash out the oil very well at all in my experience. what do you all use to wash out your oil?I live in the UK and a lot of the haircare products i have seen menioned on here i have never heard of! Any tips or recommendations on where I am going wrong?

Pierre
December 21st, 2008, 03:46 AM
I never wash out the oil I just oiled with. If I have to clarify, I use baking soda; else I just wash with water. Then when it's slightly damp, I fingercomb a couple of squirts (maybe 0.5 ml) of oil through my hair.

logica_divina
December 21st, 2008, 04:22 AM
The best thing to use to take the oil out (and it works much better then shampoo) is any cone-free conditioner. Put some in your hair when you get in the shower, clip it up or use a shower cap and go about the rest of your shower duties. At the end, rinse it off well.

Melisande
December 21st, 2008, 05:19 AM