PDA

View Full Version : Long hair possible without henna/indigo?

Laila23
December 19th, 2008, 09:49 PM
Hi Everyone. I hope this isn't inappropriate. And I hope it's okay where I've placed it because I'm hoping to attract not only henna heads but also non-henna heads for their advice , etc.

I've been looking at everyone's pictures of their hair, both short and long and the shine and strength that I see is really amazing.

Since I've been here, I've learned a lot and my hair has changed quite a bit (thank you very much!). However, I have a question, is it possible to have long hair without henna and/or indigo? My goal is long, moisturized, healthy hair.

I understand that these (mostly the henna though) deposit some of itself into the hair shaft and fortify it against damage, etc.

So please feel free to offer your ideas/experience on this. I'm still on the fence about the henna/indigo. I want the strength that it gives but I'm nervous about using it as I've never used it before and I also don't want any color change.

I appreciate all of your time and ideas and advice. And yes, I've spent some time reading over the henna section and the henna articles. No doubt, I will probably re-read them several times before I finally decide one or the other. But nice to hear some real life experiences. Especially since a friend of mine said that the henna made her hair really dry :(

Thanks!

Elphie
December 19th, 2008, 09:55 PM
I'm sure it's certainly possible; I spent 30 years of my life with waist-length hair without it.

akurah
December 19th, 2008, 10:00 PM
Why would henna be necessary for long hair? Some of the people around here with the longest hair do not use henna at all.

Teazel
December 19th, 2008, 10:05 PM
Well, yeah. I don't use either. :D

Pegasus Marsters
December 19th, 2008, 10:07 PM
Loads of our members don't use henna. Some of them even prefer chemical dyes and still have long hair.

Nat242
December 19th, 2008, 10:10 PM