PDA

View Full Version : Dandruff cause slow growth???

kwhitchurch
December 17th, 2008, 11:29 AM
Just wondering if anyone knows if dandruff can be the cause of slow growth? My head is not usually itchy but I do get flakes and I am worried that means my scalp is not happy and therefore could be slowing my growth...I have been doing CO for about 2 months and have only shampood maybe 1 or 2 times since I started

lyria
December 17th, 2008, 11:41 AM
I would bet that dandruff is a sign of an unhealthy scalp which would definitely slow growth. Maybe you could try using some jojoba oil as a leave in?

Spike
December 17th, 2008, 11:52 AM
(smacks forehead--hopefully that will improve circulation)

D'oh!!! For years I had pretty bad dandruff (nothing would control the stuff) and . . . you guessed it, thinning, slow-growing hair.

Hopefully, now that I'm no longer flaky on the outside, my hair will come back in thicker and faster.

kwhitchurch
December 17th, 2008, 12:12 PM
I am a little worried that putting oil on my scalp will make my hair look terribly oily, I have fine thin hair as it is. I will definitely look in to something now if it slows growth. I have had terribly slow growing hair for several months and I can't take it anymore! It might also have to do with the frigid cold minnesota weather we are having (lucky if the temp gets above 15 degrees this week!)

Darkhorse1
December 17th, 2008, 01:45 PM
dandruff is a fungus that lays under the scalp. It's not a sign of unhealthy-ness. Scientists are unsure why some people get it and others don't. Genetics play a huge roll. As well as stress etc.

I've never noticed lack of growth due to dandruff, but my hair grows very fast--it's genetic as well. So, perhaps look at genetics first, and then discuss some dandruff problems with your doctor to find the best solution for you. :)

Heidi_234
December 17th, 2008, 03:19 PM