PDA

View Full Version : Half-tails and English braids

Peter
December 4th, 2008, 07:16 PM
It's kinda embarrassing to ask this because it seems so simple but I just can't seem to do a half-tail properly... I always end up with too little hair down (which looks pretty bad) or too little hair in the tail (which also looks bad). How should I separate my hair to do this? Also, my hair seems to love being parted on the side or down the middle and refuses to be combed straight back. Is this necessary for a half-tail or can I do one with a part?

I have a question about basic 3-strand braids too. I'm just learning how to do them now and can do it well if I make 2 separate ones (one on each side). But when I try to do one behind my head, I can't seem to hold on to the sections well near the end so the tassel is several inches long. I think this is because the strands at the front of my head are a few inches shorter than the ones at the back but I'm not sure. But anyway, it looks pretty wimpy with only 3-4 bumps and then a bunch of unbraided hair... will this come with practice or does my hair just need to be longer?

Cheers and TIA,
Peter

Speckla
December 4th, 2008, 07:20 PM
Just imagine a line stretch ear to ear in the back of your head and use that as your level to pull up from.

I think short English braids are adorable. There'll be more bumps as time goes on but enjoy what you have now and don't worry about it.
________
Pak suzuki motor specifications (http://www.suzuki-tech.com/wiki/Pak_Suzuki_Motor)

Peter
December 4th, 2008, 07:43 PM
I'll try that, thanks for the reply. :)

Elphie
December 4th, 2008, 08:12 PM
Sometimes I like the look of a half-up with a part, my hair doesn't always cooperate with my thinking though. If you think it looks good, I don't see why you can't. If you need a bit of help, you could try putting some aloe gel in your hair to see if it will give it a bit more hold.

birthmarkie
December 4th, 2008, 09:06 PM