PDA

View Full Version : Protective hair styles.

kaaatie
December 2nd, 2008, 06:06 PM
I get so much breakage on my just-past-shoulder-length hair, what can I do to help prevent this? My hair is also prone to tangling, would bunning be an answer? I'm a total beginner at this because usually I love wearing my curly hair down. But I've decided hair health is more important!

Please recommend any styles that willl be good for hair uring the daytime, and protective sleeping styles.TIA!

Darkhorse1
December 2nd, 2008, 07:01 PM
Do you have fine hair? My friends who have very fine hair find tangles a real problem. They opt for using products to help make more 'slip' in the hair, but that's your call. I think bunning or a loose braid should help. Good luck--your hair looks great! :)

Elphie
December 2nd, 2008, 07:01 PM
Hi kaaatie! Welcome! What's your haircare routine like?

My first guess would be that the hair brushing up against your shoulders, daily, might be causing the breakage. Wearing it up more frequently would certainly cut down on that.

For sleeping, I find a simple braid works for me.

Curlsgirl
December 2nd, 2008, 08:16 PM
Any updo that would keep the hair in place and especially cover the ends would be great. At your length I really liked a french twist or a french braid tucked under and pinned. If you don't know how to do these styles it is really worth learning how. Shoulder length is a bad time to get damage since the ends brush the tops of the shoulders so much. At night, I don't do updos (can't stand them, just flip my hair over the satin pillowcase) but a simple braid would be good if you can stand it. Some people also gather their hair on top of the head and pony it with a scrunchy. If you don't have a satin pillowcase, invest in one. Fine hair is more easily tangled but these things will help a lot.

Gaelic Girl
December 2nd, 2008, 10:04 PM