PDA

View Full Version : Do you think hair length depends on genes?

kaaatie
November 22nd, 2008, 04:49 AM
Hi everyone, this is my first post here!

I've been trying to grow my hair for ages and results are achingly slow - I've been hovering in the shoulder region/just below for over 2 years! This might be because my hair is so damaged (tons of breakage) but...

I read a small article recently that suggested hair growth was linked to genetics and that a person's hair can only grow to a certain length.

Obviously loads of people here have gorgeous, healthy, longer-than-average hair which suggests to me the article is wrong (I hope so) - or you're all just blessed genetically!

What do you think? Do you know any more about this theory, do you think its true?

Thanks everyone!

Bene
November 22nd, 2008, 05:05 AM
it's not just guessing and speculation, nor a mere suggestion. genetics plays a very large role in your potential hair growth. sure, maintenance and diet are important, but even the best care ends somewhere. it's hard to figure out where your terminal length is, especially if the people in your family keep their hair short.

but if your problem is breakage, then we're talking about maintenance. there are many articles and threads here that can help with that.

if we're talking about terminal length, that's when the hair sheds when on its own schedule (genetics)

hey, gravity is also a theory :)

ChloeDharma
November 22nd, 2008, 05:27 AM
Yup genetics plays an important role, but so doe handling, health, diet etc. If your hair is not growing past shoulderlength then i find it very unlikely your genetic potential is what is stopping growth. You mention it is in bad condition and breaking, you first need to rectify that, stop doing the things that are causing breakage...heat styling, chemical processes, rough handling....too frequent washing perhaps? And wearing it down.....shoulderlength can be quite harsh on the ends as they are constantly rubbing on clothes etc.