PDA

View Full Version : Seeking help for several issues-hair loss, extremely oily hair, etc.

Mara7
May 6th, 2024, 07:55 AM
Good Morning,
I introduced myself in the Newbie's section a few weeks ago, but just now getting some time to post my rather long first post on my issues. I am a nurse, so I'll be speaking of my issues from a medical/scientific/holistic perspective as well.

I am 58, menopausal and have hypothyroidism which is now well controlled. I experienced menopause three years ago. I am on Bi-est estrogen with 2.5 mg DHEA and Prometrium progesterone at night, 200 mg. I take a tiny dose of Levothyroxine at 12.5 mg. per day. Also, Lisinopril 20 mg. at night for blood pressure control.

My issues started at age 40 with Hypothyroidism. It was found and I was placed on medication. I lost a good 1/4 of my fine, but thick hair during that time. The hair loss stabilized for many years until I was 50 at went to peri-menopause. I also went through a period of extreme stress-we lost a daughter, family and work stress with financial issues, etc. I started to lose a bit more over time until I went into menopause at 55. I didn't have a cycle for one year, then had the one from hell, and they stopped for good. I lost another 1/4th of my hair during these last 8 years.

In December of 2023, more stress with an emergency surgery for my husband, and my MIL's death. My hair really started to fall then-about 6 weeks later. It became prone to breakage. In March, my scalp became very oily and breakouts started to occur. Some red areas of inflammation popped up. I was seen by a Dermatologist who told me that it was Seborrheic Dermatitis with Folliculitis. I was given Ketoconazole shampoo 2% to use twice a week.