PDA

View Full Version : How to bun?

Pearl Raynefel
November 26th, 2023, 02:02 PM
I feel a little silly asking about something so seemingly basic, but I usually wear my hair down so I really don't know a lot about different ways of putting it up. Anyway, I'd like to wear it up more often since it's already somewhere between hip and tailbone, and I want to avoid accidental breakage from getting caught on things. I'm not very good at buns right now and I need some advice on making them neat without them being too tight. I'm 2a/F/M/iii so I have a lot of hair to deal with <3

spidermom
November 26th, 2023, 03:17 PM
You could go to YouTube and search for easy buns. There are hundreds of videos. Find one (or more) that you like, watch the videos, and practice practice practice.

neko_kawaii
November 26th, 2023, 03:56 PM
It may be easier to start with a braid. By having your hair confined you have already addressed “neatness” and can focus on the mechanics of constructing a bun.

YouTube is a fantastic resource. Also check out the LHC Hairstyle Thesaurus (https://forums.longhaircommunity.com/showthread.php?t=145554) which provides brief descriptions and links tutorials.

Maiden Fair
November 26th, 2023, 04:19 PM
Hi! I didn't start learning buns until my hair was between waist and hip last year, so I feel ya. I don't know exactly how thick your hair is, but mine is a hefty iii (~5in. circumference) and I've found that only a few buns work for me yet, even though I've reached tailbone now. The Lazy Wrap Bun (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nvKbxNBHjOI), the Gibraltar Bun (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TjDHBMY9PjE), the Disc Bun (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YxWrcMoDP_Q), and the Nessa bun (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xoLWQr5I1Qc) are all ones I use regularly (although I do find the Disc Bun with the twists as I linked can easily be tight enough to give me a headache, so it's in the rotation much less; be careful to wrap that one loosely).