PDA

View Full Version : How does one Henna nails?

wintersun99
November 17th, 2008, 09:58 AM
I'm so curious.

Would ya'll give me precise directions? I've never done this before, but my nails and cuticles are in a sorry state. I haven't decided if I want to do nails only, or nails and finger to first knuckle...

I have been following the pictures on the (mehandi/PP thread) but didn't want to derail it.

Thanks all!
:D

Aisha25
November 17th, 2008, 10:16 AM
just put some paste on where you like and boil some water, place the hands above the steam and let it moist the henna that way you get a nice shade;)

wintersun99
November 17th, 2008, 10:31 AM
Really? That simple, huh?

So, you don't have to wrap the fingers in any way? Or, I suppose holding them over the steam would act in the same way... both keep the Henna moist. Hmm, much easier than I anticiapted. I have no excuse now :)

Aisha25
November 17th, 2008, 10:34 AM
Yeah its easy and no need to wrap when doing with steam and this way it is faster too no waiting hours on end;) Just make sure the paste is not so runny that way it stays good:)

Katze
November 17th, 2008, 10:36 AM
You can also seal the henna paste with a mixture of sugar and water, and wrap the nails in TP, then sleep with the paste on. This will give the henna paste more time to stain your skin - contact, moisture, and heat are the key factors here.

HOWEVER, in my 10+ years of being a henna artist, I have never been able to get a nice color from hennaing nails. Maybe my nails are too strong, but I only ever got - including with repeated applications - a bright, sunsetty pumpkin. I have seen pictures of beautifully dark henna'd nails, but on mine, they looked terrible.

Also, the henna stays on the nail for the life of the nail. That means months, and it means a long period where your nails have "roots." Just so you know.

Katze, henna artist since '96

Fencai
November 17th, 2008, 10:48 AM
i just did mine yesterday for the first time.