PDA

View Full Version : Losing my patience! growing out from pixie cut ..

Demetrue
November 16th, 2008, 09:38 PM
I can hardly stand it any more. I've been growing my hair out from a pixie type boy cut since June 17th 2007. It got damaged along the way by different attempts at coloring and highlighting. It's been half gray since I was in my 20's and I have always colored it dark blonde, which was my original color, and then added some highlights around the face. Because of the damage, I have had to cut off half and inch here and there as it grew. So it has been one year and a half and - I still have short bangs, the side pieces are to my cheeks and the back part is a bit longer than chin length. Between being low thryoid (on medication), damage from coloring, and perimenopause, it is barely growing. I was sure it would all be shoulder length by this time. I have a long oval shaped face, so it just takes forever to get past chin length. It's just so hard to keep waiting and waiting and still not have the long hair I desire so much. When I was younger, it was classic length and seemed to grow so fast - of course I was not coloring it back then. I'm not sure what to do or not to do next. I was thinking of using Color oops to get all the color out and then just use a semi-permanant color for a while. I just don't feel ready to go gray right now - I had a child in my 40's and when I let the gray show, people mistake me for his grandmother. Anyway, I just feel so frustrated and I fear that I will never be able to grow my hair out.

joyfulmom4
November 16th, 2008, 09:41 PM
:grouphug: Hugs.

Sorry you're experiencing such frustration. Hang in there. There are members here who've grown out from pixie length to very long. You can do it too. The time just seems to go so slowly when you're measuring hair growth.

Otoh, compare that to how quickly the time passes as your son grows. You'll have long hair before you know it when you think of it that way. :)

Darkhorse1