PDA

View Full Version : Should I cut my hair all at once or in stages?

Liz_H
August 2nd, 2022, 05:39 PM
Edit to add - I've been considering this for over 2 months before posting. I didn't expect to have such a hard time deciding!

I wonder if anyone else has to make a similar decision. My hair is now at classic. Unfortunately it gets a lot thinner about 17 inches from the ends. The difference is 1/3 to 1/2 of the circumference and is a fairly abrupt change. I had a really big shed awhile back. For close to a year, I lost more hair in a day than I normally lose in a week. That's why my hair is so much thicker in the newest 26 inches.

So I want to keep trimming until my circumference is more consistent, with only a gradual taper. If I were to cut it all at once, I would have enough to make a braid or extension that's a perfect match. That would be after throwing away the last 3 inches. That's very tempting. It should be back to classic in about a year and a half. Alternatively I could cut off 5 or 6 inches every 6 months.

Were I to make a braid, it would mostly be used to pretty up a bun. I've no idea how much length I should have for that. I've been thinking about this for a few months now! Any thoughts? Would a braid that short be of use? I'm guessing that 14 inches of hair would make a braid of about 9 inches. I'm not even sure how I'd fasten it together at the top.

illicitlizard
August 2nd, 2022, 05:55 PM
I'm not sure how you would fasten it either, but I'm sure google would have some ideas on how to make it work (alternatively someone else on this forum)! That sounds like a seriously cool use of your hair! 9" braid will absolutely be of use, I think it would look lovely as an addition to a bun.

When it comes to this, I'd honestly say chop it all at once - you know how much you want off, just go for it. Unless you think taking it off in smaller chunks may lead to you stopping after say 10" rather than 17" I don't see the point in dragging it out.