PDA

View Full Version : What's your oiling routine?

gossamertresses
January 29th, 2021, 01:13 AM
(Sorry if there's already a thread like this!)

I'm a newbie to oiling and I'd really love to know all about the routine you go through while using oils.
For example: what you do before/after, how long you leave them in, your application method, how you put your hair up etc.

Please include the type of oils you use + your hair type, and I'd also love to know about the results you've seen.

Skip this part if you're not interested in my situation :run:

I have straight hair which leans towards fine, and I just bought some coconut and castor oil. I made a 50/50 mix in a dropper bottle. Any tips or advice would be greatly appreciated!

Also, I plan on leaving it in while working out, but I don't want to get my yoga mat dirty. I've tried covering my hair with a plastic bag, shower cap and towel during past experiments but I just hate anything on my head. Any suggestions? :D

JasminxCat
January 29th, 2021, 01:38 AM
I add whatever oil into my treatment that my hair is asking my for, I do castor oil treatments every two weeks, and other oil treatments when my hair is feeling dry, want some extra moisture, to soothe my scalp, or as a pre poo treatment. I prefer to do them during the day for a few hours or as long as I can stand it. I've just oiled my hair and scalp as a pre poo treatment with jojoba and peppermint oil for tomorrow's Nizoral shampoo wash. The shampoo is drying but will help with my scalp itchiness. I wasn't planning on oiling so late so I guess I'll have to sleep with it in tonight until I wake up. I always add a few drops of oil to my ends working my way up to rest of my length after washing or on dry hair before detangling

My preferred oils are sweet almond oil, argan oil, olive oil, coconut oil (only for scalp), jojoba oil, castor oil for growth, and peppermint oil for itchiness

I think I have 1a/1b but not sure, F/M, ii hair