PDA

View Full Version : Mason Pearson Hair brush BB or Nylon mix?

LillyBlossom
January 15th, 2021, 03:24 AM
Hi everyone, I'm looking at getting the very expensive hair brush for my birthday in March.

I've got fine straight hair but its kinda thick (a lot on my head)

Is the Boar Bristle or the nylon mix one the best choice? If you havre one do you love it? How do you even use it lol? Is it worth the money?

I'm committed to hair health this year instead of just focusing on length, I'd really appreciate any advice you ca give me.

Thanks for reading

Feral_
January 15th, 2021, 03:30 AM
It’s personal preference and I have no experience of the Mason Pearson brush. However I couldn’t get on with BB with nylon bristles in - too prickly on my scalp. My solution was to pull out the nylons with pliers! It’s perfect now.

xanthochromia
January 15th, 2021, 07:59 AM
I can't help much but still wanted to reply with my experience. I have fine straight hair but it's pretty thin (~2.3"/5.8 cm ponytail). I use a soft Kent DA4S (https://kentbrushes.com/products/ladies-finest-dark-wood-pure-soft-white-bristle-narrow-brush-da4s) boar bristle brush currently. I was debating between the soft Mason Pearson and the soft Kent but decided that Kents seemed like a better value for the money while still being a high-end brush. Since your hair is thick I don't think you would like the soft bristles on mine as they barely get through to my scalp, but I love it and just brush in smaller sections. I think the nylon would be even harsher than standard boar bristles which were already too aggressive for my hair.

Jools69
January 15th, 2021, 09:27 AM