PDA

View Full Version : How much shed is normal?

Lutya
November 12th, 2008, 07:08 PM
I am new to all of this hair stuff so I'm sorry if this is a dumb question. Over the last 6 months or so, the amount of hair I lose in the shower has increased drastically. I had to start using a strainer in the drain to prevent clogs, so at least I can monitor the amount. It is about a 1" round loose wad each time I shower (every day or two). Is that normal or a lot? I saw an endocrinologist in the spring and had normal bloodwork more recently and everything was normal. I started taking an organic liquid multivitamin a couple months ago but haven't noticed any change from it yet. I haven't changed my hair habits either. Thanks!

Cinnamon Hair
November 12th, 2008, 07:26 PM
Up to 100 hairs a day is normal. Something you might try is to not only count the hairs you pull from the drain cover but also check to see if they have a root bulb attached. If there's a root bulb then the hair shed naturally, but if not then it is a broken hair that has been damaged --from chemical coloring, straightening iron, rough handling, a comb with bad seams, etc.

You said that your shedding has increased lately. Did you start any new medications around the time the shed increased? It's also possible if you started reading LHC around that time you have just become more observant of your hair and before you didn't notice the amount. If you are really worried you should see a dermatologist about it so he/she can look for the cause.

Miyani
November 12th, 2008, 07:29 PM
Sadly, I've been shedding alot too but I think it's b/c my hair is dry, although I wash it almost everyday with conditioner. I don't get the white bulbs so I think it's my comb...my evil comb! lol. How do you count the hairs? They're so tiny lol.

AnneAdeline
November 12th, 2008, 07:31 PM