PDA

View Full Version : Newbie question: even after a trim, why do ends stick together?

LoungeLady
December 5th, 2020, 05:29 AM
I have fine thin hair - finally BSL. I’ve never had long hair in my 40+ years so I’m learning so much from you all. What I don’t get is that I have healthy virgin hair.... I got a trim after 3 years of no cutting. But why is it that it seems like just the very ends stick together say after a walk or whatever? Any pointers? Hair seems great after washing.... I use a wooden comb and only comb once dry or 95% dry.... I’m sure it’s a simple answer but I’m new to this after never believing my fine thin hair could be long. Thanks in advance!

LoungeLady
December 5th, 2020, 06:08 AM
I should add. I don’t use hair products outside of S&C except.... at night, I’ll use a leave in coconut oil (hask) or Aveeno almond oil blend. I feel like the ends stick together even on wash day (before I use either of these) but maybe they are a problem. I feel like my hair absorbs them overnight (silk bonnet worn).... anyhow I’m pretty uneducated when it comes to hair.....

Briar.Rose
December 5th, 2020, 06:49 AM
If it’s healthy hair maybe it is forming a natural curl? My hair is wavy and the ends. I praying hands over it then scrunch gently with a bit of water and leave in conditioner on my hands.

Feral_
December 5th, 2020, 06:52 AM
If your hair is good after washing then the leave in oils might be the cause. Some folk find oiling the length attracts lint and other build up, this would make the ends stick together more. You could try less oiling or a different lighter one than coconut, also putting it in a more protective style so it’s not loose on walks etc.

Lady Stardust
December 5th, 2020, 07:08 AM
Your hair sounds lovely!

It could be that the ends are rubbing on your clothes during your walk. My ends stick together if my hair is down when I go out, so I keep it up and out of the way.