PDA

View Full Version : It's Sarahlabyrinth's 8th LHC anniversary!

Sarahlabyrinth
July 2nd, 2020, 02:07 PM
Well, last month it was and I kept forgetting to do an anniversary thread!

When I first joined the LHC I set a goal of waist length, I wanted the same length I had as a teenager. I also decided to start growing out the brown dye (I had been dying my hair for thirty years and was sick of the mess and smell - and expense of dye) and allow my natural silvers to appear, so I began the process by changing from using brown dye to using blonde dye, and from the blonde dye I gradually used it with less and less developing time on my hair (roots only) so that as the months and years passed, my own colour would show through more and more, and to not have a demarcation line. I also wanted to eventually have stunning white hair like my mother's, only long.

As this process continued I realised I had acquired a case of LHC-itis. I decided to see if I could reach classic length, as my father had told me that my grandmother had hair "long enough to sit on" and that as a small boy he would sit on her bed and watch her combing it out. It certainly made an impression on him, so I wondered if I could grow mine to a similar length. Sadly, he died about the time I decided to grow it, so he never got to see it very long. But I imagine he would have liked it.

I reached Classic length, which felt very short, so then decided to see if I could reach knee length, for a challenge to myself, and for the curiosity of seeing if I could. Before I reached knee, I decided to go for terminal length and see how far I would get, and was hoping to reach ankle, which seemed a good length.

So it seems to have reached terminal at lower calf (or terminal for the dyed hair at least).

For those of you who enjoy photos, here they are, one per year:

https://i.imgur.com/03Wofmx.jpg

https://i.imgur.com/Hc9GB7Q.jpg

https://i.imgur.com/iUtflTk.jpg

https://i.imgur.com/9LB3tFb.jpg