PDA

View Full Version : Oil cleansing method but for your scalp? oil lets talk!

Luna Starsetta
June 25th, 2020, 05:59 PM
hey all. i have been using oil on my ends for a few years now. however i have heard of oil cleansing for your face. has anyone tried it on the scalp? does it work? what oil worked if any? what was your experience? my husband has been my test dummy and found that argon oil works for his hair type and he can go longer between washes now that he massages the oil into his scalp then uses just water to rise it out while massaging the scalp. when the oil rinses out it runs over the length to condition the ends. he does this 2-3 times then does a full clarifying wash with shampoo and uses a few drops after to keep the length in good condition. how do you all use your oils?! lets talk about it!!:joy:

MusicalSpoons
June 25th, 2020, 06:14 PM
I love this idea but I didn't have the energy to keep it up on my face and I don't have the energy to properly try it on my scalp at all. I think co-washing is the closest I've got to the same principle, but I couldn't keep that up for various reasons either.

That's really cool that it works for your husband! Have you tried it yourself?

Firefox7275
June 25th, 2020, 07:21 PM
With OCM for the face - sometimes neck and chest too - the excess oil, dead skin and grime is removed with a cloth (terry, muslin, etc). There is a fair bit of friction which could damage hair over time.

The 'modified' version of OCM has an emulsifier (ingredient that mixes oil and water) added to the oil to help it rinse completely clean with less friction. As already noted conditioner-only washing is comparable because it also works by emulsification.

Pre-wash oil treatments can of course be done before CO-washing. I use coconut oil - hair not scalp - to reduce porosity, as in the published research.