PDA

View Full Version : Is Shea Butter supposed to be hard or soft?

shellblue1
March 23rd, 2008, 02:37 AM
I purchased some shea butter from a seller on ebay and it is so hard. I thought that shea butter would be softer. Should it be heated up in the microwave before use? I purchased the unrefined raw kind. Is there a different kind that I should purchase if I want it to be soft? I hope these aren't silly questions! I have never used shea butter on my hair before.

manderly
March 23rd, 2008, 02:39 AM
Hard as a rock.

Just scrape a little bit and rub it in your hands to warm and soften it, then apply where desired.

Velvettt
March 23rd, 2008, 02:40 AM
Not silly at all! When I bought my first shea butter, I was surprised and confused, too. It was hard and grainy. I learned to melt it down and let it re-firm up to get rid of the grainy texture. I only use it in mixes, so I melt it in the microwave (lots of people prefer putting it in a container and sinking it in hot water to melt it but I'm lazy and impatient and that takes too long!) after it melts, I add my other stuff and let it get hard again.

What manderly said. Melt a bit in your hands.

sapphire-o
March 23rd, 2008, 02:41 AM
You can melt it and mix with some liquid oils. I mixed mine with olive oil. Much easier to spread after that.

shellblue1
March 23rd, 2008, 02:46 AM
Thanks for all of your replies! :)

Miss Murphy
March 23rd, 2008, 11:52 AM
You can also try to buy whipped shea butter next time. It usually has added oils and some Vitamin E, and is then whipped into a souffle-like texture.

AntiHairSlave
March 23rd, 2008, 12:01 PM
What difference does it make on your hair?

Wanderer09
March 23rd, 2008, 12:15 PM
It makes my hair feel softer, and I've heard it helps strengthen brittle hair as well? I could be wrong here. I like to use it on my ends and I've mixed some melted shea butter with conditioner before...

Patrycja
March 23rd, 2008, 12:28 PM