PDA

View Full Version : Tell me what scissors to buy.

soprano
April 2nd, 2020, 12:34 PM
I need some hair scissors and I have no idea where to start.

Surely I can't be the only person in this boat - we are under a stay-at-home order for another month at least. I could use a trim and my poor curly-haired husband is turning into a puffball.

What is a good make/model of hair scissors? I'd like to keep it under $100 and under $50 would be better. I guess I'm going to need to get clippers for my husband - any recommendations for an absolute novice? I used to trim my own bangs but I haven't tried anything beyond that since I was about 4 years old.

FrayedFire
April 2nd, 2020, 01:49 PM
I just got a pair from CVS and they seem to work well enough, just keep them away from everyone else!!

Alila
April 2nd, 2020, 01:54 PM
These are the scissors that I have: Olivia Garden SilkCut 5,75 Inch.
They are comparatively small, which is better for S&D. Smaller scissors allow for more accuracy but they are more ineffective when you're planning on cutting a lot of hair at once. I've had these for almost 3 years and I am very happy with them.
https://www.amazon.de/Olivia-Garden-SilkCut-Haarschneide-Schere-Rechtshand/dp/B003LRFUBS/ref=sr_1_9?__mk_de_DE=%C3%85M%C3%85%C5%BD%C3%95%C3 %91&dchild=1&keywords=olivia+garden+schere&qid=1585854276&sr=8-9

I've also tired the Jaguar Pre Style RELAX but I didn't like them. They didn't feel as high quality to me.
https://www.amazon.de/Jaguar-Pre-Style-mattiert-Relax-Professionelle-Haarschneidescherem-Zoll/dp/B001DHT5Z0/ref=sr_1_34?__mk_de_DE=%C3%85M%C3%85%C5%BD%C3%95%C 3%91&dchild=1&keywords=haarscheere&qid=1585855988&sr=8-34
(the links are to the german amazon store)

I've also, also tried cheep scissors from a drug store. I would not recommend that. I noticed a lot more split ends. A problem that has gone away with my Olivia Garden scissors.