PDA

View Full Version : To use a hair dryer or not to use a hair dryer, that is my question

LongLocks27
March 9th, 2020, 02:15 PM
Hey guys,
I have a question.
I have naturally curly hair and am thinking of using a hair dryer. Is that a bad choice? I am kinda new to advanced hair care, so I would like to hear your advice.
Bye for now! <3

Sarahlabyrinth
March 9th, 2020, 02:19 PM
Welcome here! :D As long as you don't have it on hot and hold it close to the hair, and don't concentrate the heat in one spot, it's fine. If the heat is too hot to hold close to your hand then it's too hot for your hair, but warm or cold air is fine. I use mine on warm or cold and hold it, always moving, about 10 inches away from my hair.

florenonite
March 9th, 2020, 02:29 PM
Whether or not it's a bad choice depends on a lot of factors. If you're only planning on growing to around waist length, your hair can take more damage than if you're planning on growing it to your knees, and if your haircare routine is otherwise low damage (no dyeing or other heat styling) then blow drying might not be a problem, especially if you stick to a cooler setting and only really blow dry the roots to keep your scalp from staying wet.

However, given that you mention your hair is naturally curly, I get the impression you want to straighten it? That's more likely to cause damage, especially with all the brushing on damp hair, as you're going to have to fully blow dry all the hair from root to tip. One thing you can do to reduce the damage here, if you have the time for it, is to leave your hair to air dry most of the way, and just use the blow dryer to finish it. This might be an option if you're not planning on growing very long, especially if your hair tends to hold up well to damage.