PDA

View Full Version : Dying hair purple with gentian violet

January 26th, 2020, 03:37 AM
https://youtu.be/A_H7WMQHwDI

https://tattwa.pl/2013/03/jak-zostac-wyrzutkiem-o-dziwnych-wlosach-instruktaz.html

I assume it'll kill your hair, heheh. Pretty interesting though. I wonder if it does anything good for dandruff... Bleeds like hell everywhere though, I'm sure. And drying, no?

Obsidian
January 26th, 2020, 04:57 AM
I've been using gentian violet to tone my blond hair for a few months now. Just takes a few drop in conditioner to make a nice lavender.
I did try to do a pastel lavender once when my hair was still bleached, followed a youtube video. Hair came out super splotchy, had to fade it.

Its never dried my hair but again, I just use a few drops. It doesn't bleed the way I use it but dang, don't let the straight liquid touch anything.

I actually need to tone again, I should try to make a little purple streak and see what happens.

Ylva
January 26th, 2020, 05:18 AM
Is this the stuff that I remember some of my friends and classmates having on their warts when we were kids?

January 26th, 2020, 05:21 AM
Is this the stuff that I remember some of my friends and classmates having on their warts when we were kids?

Yeah, yeah. That's why I thought it might be beneficial in dandruff and some cases of hair loss if it's fungal... Maybe. Dunno. Or it's just crazy idea and it'll bleed everywhere and dry my hair out.

Ylva
January 26th, 2020, 05:24 AM
Yeah, yeah. That's why I thought it might be beneficial in dandruff and some cases of hair loss if it's fungal... Maybe. Dunno. Or it's just crazy idea and it'll bleed everywhere and dry my hair out.

Frankly, this sounds like a much better idea to me than conventional hair dye (especially anything that doesn't just stain), even if it might be a little drying when you do it!

Sarahlabyrinth
January 26th, 2020, 05:25 AM
Sounds better to me too! As long as you can bear the mess it makes everywhere.

SleepyTangles