PDA

View Full Version : Is it possible to perm your hair to 2b/2c?

FallingDarkness
October 16th, 2019, 02:28 PM
My friend is looking to get her 1b hair to a 2b or a 2c. I've suggested braid waves and the like because I know how damaging perms are, but she's looking for something that'll be less constant effort....what would you ask for if you wanted to get your hair permed to that? Or is it even possible? It's my (probably incorrect) understanding that only those seeking curls get perms. I'm just trying to get as much information to her as possible...thanks!

jane_marie
October 16th, 2019, 02:38 PM
You can get perms to go curly, straight or anywhere in between. The thing is though, perms are super tricky to do and even harder to do well. When I worked as a cosmetologist I refused to do them because they are extremely easy to mess up.

I would urge your friend to rethink the whole thing and if she is dead set on doing it make sure she knows to ask the stylist if they have done it before, how confident they are and for after photos.

The only things that can ruin a head of hair faster than perms are razors and three year-olds with scissors.

Begemot
October 16th, 2019, 02:42 PM
Wavy perm is possible :) google new wave perm. The results depend on how tightly you use perm rods, how thin the rods are and how long you leave them. I don't have personal experience but have thought about it (I love wavy and curly hair so much).

lapushka
October 16th, 2019, 02:56 PM
The stylists I went to always said they needed to put a curl in, that a wave wasn't possible; might be due to the texture of my own hair (which I was in total denial over for years). So there is that.

I think I believe previous posters who do say it is possible. :)

AmaryllisRed
October 16th, 2019, 06:51 PM