PDA

View Full Version : When Is Shedding Season?

Knightly
August 8th, 2019, 09:43 PM
I've noticed my hair is falling SO much more these last couple weeks so I was wondering if it's due to shedding season right now? I can't help but freak out a bit about it shedding. I'd also like to know how many times per year hair naturally sheds and when, that'd help keeping myself less concerned about my hair falling out as it is a natural thing haha lol

Kalamazoo
August 8th, 2019, 10:27 PM
Wow! I didn't know that we humans had shedding seasons. (But it makes sense. If the other animals do, why not?)

So I :google: d "human hair shedding season". The first 2 pages to pop up were http://www.keratin.com/aa/aa015.shtml & https://nutrafol.com/blog/seasonal-hair-shedding-explained-by-3-experts/

Now that I'm an expert (having read all of 2 pages on the web! :bow: I can confidantly assure you, you have nothing to fear. :knit:

Kalamazoo
August 8th, 2019, 11:52 PM
I wonder if the shedding season dates have to be read backwards if you're south of the Equator...

macyann
August 9th, 2019, 12:13 AM
I just had to google this. I read that in july/august humans can shed more, but I also read that about once every 100 days humans shed as part of their hair cycle. I had to click on this thread because I've had the same problem this week, although I might be able to blame it on traveling a lot... I'm not sure if travel can cause shedding.... back to google I guess

Kalamazoo
August 9th, 2019, 12:24 AM
Travelling, especially by air, can alter the number of daylight hours/day, hence jetlag. It's particularly noticeable travelling East-West; but even travelling North-South ... Well, I like looking at www.SunriseSunset.com . Check out today's sunrise & sunset times for wherever you are, & then look at the same data for a place 1,000 miles north of you, and another place 1,000 miles south. It was surprising to me when I first saw that.

czech it out
August 9th, 2019, 05:25 AM