PDA

View Full Version : Is this sebum? I guess I do need help

Beckstar
July 30th, 2019, 09:17 PM
I've only been water washing since I buzzed my hair, before I cowashed 1-2 times a week. My hair feels waxy and gunky. I wet my hair, massage my scalp well with my nails, and I rinse. I scritch each night before bed. It's been a long time since I've had hair this short but I don't remember it being like this before.

ETA: same kind of water that I've been bathing with for the last 3 years so that hasn't changed.

My hair is normal to dry, never been greasy.

technowitch
July 30th, 2019, 09:30 PM
I have super fine, wavy hair that is both frizzy AND greasy: both of these issues didn't become present until my early 20's. I tried going no poo because I wanted to see if I could accomplish the hair perfection people talk about all the time when they preach the wonders of no poo. My hair was so disgusting. It was still frizzy and horribly greasy. It looked like it was going to start falling out in chunks and CRUNCHED every time I brushed/combed it. No amount of scritching or massaging helped.

It made me believe that the no poo thing is not intended for greasy, fine hair. I've read lots of articles of people who went no poo who CLAIMED they have greasy hair and that their hair stopped producing oil after some time on no poo. I don't consider one's hair greasy if it doesn't start becoming that way until day three of no washing. Try, within the same wash day. I think the no poo method only works for people with super dry scalps that produce practically no oil. BUT, that's just my opinion based on what I've read and experienced personally. So, I could be wrong about all that...

EdG
July 30th, 2019, 09:43 PM
Water-only washed hair will look and feel somewhat oily. Whether this is acceptable is up to you.