PDA

View Full Version : Questionable ingredient list???

macyann
July 25th, 2019, 12:11 PM
So, I'm a little new to hair care, and I'm finding it VERY hard to shop around for myself considering all the "bad" ingredients hair care products seem to be soaked with.
So far I've found that cetearyl alcohol can dry out the hair, and that it's good to use a clarifying wash if I'm using products with alcohol in them. I'm learning a bit more about the good, bad, and ugly aspects of sulphate. Are there any other ingredients I should "look out for"?/ what have you found damages your hair and why?

-Fern
July 25th, 2019, 12:18 PM
Your mileage may vary, but I find the products I use to be the smallest part of the equation. Choose something that your scalp likes and that aligns with your lifestyle (vegan/low-waste/etc.), and otherwise don't worry too much. If you have buildup, clarify. If your hair is dry, do a moisture treatment. If your hair is breaking easily, do a protein treatment.

Healthy scalp tends to lead to good growth. Some folks are more sensitive than others to certain ingredients, but I don't think it's worth avoiding things unless you know from experience your hair doesn't like that ingredient.

SleepyTangles
July 25th, 2019, 01:20 PM
Cetearyl Alchohol is actually a greasy waxy substance, itīs used to combine water-soluble components and oil-soluble components in products (itīs a fatty alcohol, technically speaking). I mean, everything can be drying depending on your hair individual needs, even oils, butters and waxes when they are layered over dehydrated hair.
I personally wonīt avoid cetearyl alchohol, or stearyl alcohol in beauty products. I do avoid aggressive non-fatty alcohols, like ethanol and menthol, but I occasionally like a beer rinse over my hair, especially for clarifying