PDA

View Full Version : Complicated Bleaching issue...

Satori
June 16th, 2019, 09:53 AM
So, I did what everyone says not to do - bleach your own hair. But, I spent literal hours researching, watching videos of amateurs and professionals alike, and I was prepared to be very patient and lighten my hair very slowly. My end goal was/is platinum to then dye silver and pastel colors. I was fully expecting my hair to go orange, but now I'm wondering where to go from here until I can bleach again.
My hair background: My natural color is light brown, I think 1b?, and I've been dying it blue black for a couple years now. Yes, I know it's extremely difficult to go from black to platinum. The last time I dyed my hair, I tried to lighten it to a plum 4vv color. I used 30 volume developer all over, in hopes that it would be strong enough to lighten my black hair. Well it did not show up on the black at all, and my regrowth, which was about two inches long, was bright purple. I should've known that would happen..
So I then decided I wanted to try and go blonde. I used a color remover first and it worked okay, but my mid-lengths and ends were still very dark brown, and my roots/regrowth that were not dyed black turned bright orange. So I threw a 6n demi-permanent over it, and that turned out okay.
So today was bleaching day, and I did my ends first with 30 vol, and then my roots/regrowth with 20 vol. All my products are ion brand, and I also added the ion absolute perfection booster. That helped keep it healthy, and my hair doesn't feel too damaged right now - just a bit dry. But long story short as you can hopefully see in the pictures, my ends are still pretty dark (which I expected) but my roots/regrowth are verrrry bright/light orange. It's also very uneven/patchy, and there are oddly some sections that are actually greenish, which I have no idea why.