PDA

View Full Version : I don't understand hair serums

CampFireTiger
May 1st, 2019, 12:09 PM
So.. this is a stupid question, but what are hair serums for? I've looked at some threads about them, but all I've really learned is that they're lighter than oils and what brands people like, but what do I use them for? Frizz control? Moisture for dry ends? Styling? Ease of brushing since some have silicones? Should you put them on right after showering or once it's dry? Or do you only use it on a non-wash day? Or everyday?
You don't have to answer all the questions I was just looking for an explanation since I've never used them before.

spidermom
May 1st, 2019, 12:14 PM
I use them to make combing easier. My hair has a lot of texture and tends to tangle up. It's a careful balancing act though; too much serum, and my hair tangles even more. Serums also help control frizz, although it seems that if hair is prone to be frizzy, there isn't much that will totally tame it.

I've used on both freshly washed, damp hair, also on dry hair. Both work equally well.

If you want to try a serum, start small. 1 drop rubbed between palms, then over hair is a good starting point.

Groovy Granny
May 1st, 2019, 12:18 PM
There are no stupid questions in the learning process :)

I don't have the hair intel others do here :o so.....personally, I use them to cut frizz on my fine wispy silver, and they also are an aid in styling (for me).

My hair only needs a few drops ~ rubbed between palms then over the ends, or crown etc; I raely tangle so that is a non issue.

I apply it to my ends on almost dry hair post shampoo/air drying.

At night I apply it to the ends before doing up my night braids.

In the morning I apply it after I take out my braids and bun them while I get dressed for soft/defined wurls.

Any time I have wispies or humidity poof I apply some to dry hair for a little definition.

It is a matter of trial and what your hair needs and loves. YMMV.

Good luck :cheer:

CampFireTiger