PDA

View Full Version : Am I really taking good care of my hair?

Hayduke
November 5th, 2008, 11:44 AM
Hello

I'm new to these forums, but I've been growing my hair long since 1991. Until I found this website, I thought I did pretty well in taking care of my hair, but after reading some of the information here, I'm concerned. I'll describe what I currently do, and then talk about my concerns.

I shampoo and condition my hair 3-5 times a week. I use Nexxus Therappe shampoo and Humectress conditioner. I use two different conditioning methods. Sometimes I will just shampoo in the shower and then apply the conditioner as a leave in afterwards. Other times, I will comb a little more of the conditioner then I use as a leave in through my hair in the shower, let it sit a few minutes, then rinse it out. It's roughly a 50-50 split on how often I use either method, but I might start using the leave in method more often soon (I always let the conditioner set while I shaved in the shower, but I no longer shave in the shower).

I've used these products for decades (long before I had long hair), but I've also rotated in other brands. Since Target started selling Nexxus however, I haven't used other brands for the last year or two. Other brands I've liked are Paul Mitchel, Joico, and Lanza Long Hairz. I did not like Aveda products at all. I've tried many many different products over the years, and I definitely felt a difference when I use "salon grade" products. I tried the cheaper products many times in college, but high quality hair products became my one luxury I wouldn't skimp on even during the times when all I could afford to eat was ramen noodles ;)