PDA

View Full Version : Easy French twist

Neoma
February 2nd, 2019, 04:35 PM
I think I invented a new way to make a French twist (FT). I twist the length three turns like I'm making a FT. Then I drape the remaining length over three fingers at the top of the FT, make a loose knot and tuck the little tail into the FT's "spine." Finally, I secure the knot with a Ficcare. Since the knot is covered with the Ficcare, it just looks like a FT. It's fast, easy and secure.

Sadly, I'm not good at taking pics of the back of my head. If anyone recreates it, please post a pic if you can. :flower:

My hair is almost APL, baby fine and silky, though I have a lot of it. I doubt that the knot trick would work for other hair types unless their hair was much longer.

lapushka
February 2nd, 2019, 04:36 PM
Neoma, what is a FT?

Neoma
February 2nd, 2019, 04:45 PM
Neoma, what is a FT?
Hi lapushka :waving:

A French twist. :)

lapushka
February 2nd, 2019, 04:59 PM
Hi lapushka :waving:

A French twist. :)

Oh darn talk about being silly! :lol: I should have guessed!!! :D
Thanks!

lapushka
February 2nd, 2019, 05:00 PM
I think this might be called a log roll. :?: I could be mistaken, though. But from your description, it is basically how I used to do my roll for my "peacock twist" when I had too much length to still do it with a tail hanging out.

Neoma
February 2nd, 2019, 05:05 PM
With a log roll, you wrap length around a tail in order to approximate a FT. Log rolls look awful and wimpy on my hair.

:flower:

akurah
February 2nd, 2019, 05:09 PM
I tried this just now, since the french twist was my absolute hands down favorite and my hair is too long now for how I used to do it. Except I think I make my french twists funny anyway, the "excess hair" you have to tuck, that hair is coming out of the bottom of my twist, it's not at the top. And I don't know where i learned that from, unless I learned it as a way of "my hair is too long for how I used to, let me do this modification...."