PDA

View Full Version : Split ends, fight them or forget them?

Laurelin
January 25th, 2019, 08:49 PM
Newbie here! My hair is somewhere between waist and hip depending on days because I am quite fluffy but I am fighting split ends with S&D with a good pair of scissors several times a week to daily. I feel like my hair breaks and splits every time I look at it. I am quite gentle with it, combing with widetooth comb, braid and bun most of the time, sleep on a satin pillowcase but I feel like I am losing length and thinning the ends allot by S&D'ing this much... Are split ends really that bad for your hair or can I just grow my hair long without needing to worry too much or am I just over-doing S&D? :confused:

Corvana
January 25th, 2019, 09:23 PM
Hmmm... you're certain your scissors are super sharp and used only for hair? If so, then you might just need to swap to microtrims regularly instead of S&D. I don't think there's an incredible risk of leaving splits, as it'd take a bit for them to travel all the way to the root. Maybe S&D half as often and see if there's any difference in how many splits you're getting?

I don't really S&D, but will cut out a split if I find one while I'm oiling up my ends or brushing or whatever. I could have a bunch hidden in there but I'm not super fussed about it.

JennGalt
January 25th, 2019, 09:46 PM
If you’re dealing with that many splits, it might mean your protein-moisture balance is off somehow. Is your hair perhaps over conditioned (too much moisture and needs protein), or has had too much protein (needs a wash and a moisturizing treatment and stay away from the protein for a bit)?

milosmomma
January 25th, 2019, 09:54 PM
Do you have any existing damage from past dyes/bleach or heat? Overly enthusiastic mechanical damage?

Knightly
January 25th, 2019, 10:38 PM
Are your scissors only for your hair? Are they sharp enough?
If they're not sharp enough they could be causing the split ends instead of cutting them out

Ylva