PDA

View Full Version : What I thought I knew about my hair - a journey - with pics!

spitfire511
January 8th, 2019, 09:28 AM
tl;dr - What I assumed about my hair because of how it USED to be was WRONG... a strand test was a SUPER good idea for me!

I've never done one of these before (because I've never taken the time to pull hair pics into one spot - so I thought this would be fun (because we all love photos right?) - and also share my :facepalm: level lesson recently.

(Disclaimer - all of this is natural - not dyed or chemically treated hair. The color variation is just that it loves to bleach in the sun! And some of that lighter hair is going a bit grey. I did used to blow-dry the heck out of it and had to when I was very short or it was unmanageable). (Further disclaimer especially for newer LHC'ers - what worked for me might not work for you - trust your hair!)

I started out here in 2010 - age 33 - relatively soon after birth of kiddo 2. I had what felt like a ton of hair then that was in pretty good condition. (These are some OLD iPhone photos so sorry they're not the best). I grew it a little and cut it (all the way back to chin) and grew it again.... LOL

https://i.imgur.com/rB9LVtZm.jpg

By 2014 it was ~ MBL and I kept it this length for a bit...This is Halloween 2015 (for texture!).
https://i.imgur.com/1LjiSwkm.jpg

Then November 2015 I cut it back to APL - and let it grow again!

This is September 2016 - the day I got divorced... (I look a little on the ragged side.)

https://i.imgur.com/bfxkpW7m.jpg

Then exactly six days later when I did that "I've had a major life change so change all the things" chop. That's back to just shy of APL from the back (looks longer than that in the front when taking a slumped over car selfie. I wasn't taking good length photos then obvs.)

https://i.imgur.com/gqscV29m.jpg