PDA

View Full Version : What should I do about excessive shedding?

natural80
December 17th, 2018, 07:28 PM
My hair is shedding like crazy. If I touch it, it falls out. I have been growing my hair out for over a year now and gave myself trims a few times. In the past I was using sls shampoo, scurl activator (silicones), and Aussie Moist 3 minute conditioner. I don't have a problem with silicones. I still use the Aussie Moist 3 minute, but besides the Aussie Moist, I'm using sls free shampoo and moisturizer both from Shea Moisture. I've been shedding like this for 6 months. I don't take any vitamins. I exercise. My diet isn't the best. Any advice on how I should handle it? TIA!

kitcatsmeow
December 17th, 2018, 07:37 PM
I just had a huge shed from using a shea moisture conditioner. It took me a while to figure out what it was. Do you put the conditioner on your scalp? Shea moisture is wonderful and I use all their products I just happened to be sensitive to something in that particular conditioner.
The shampoo could also be the culprit. Did you notice it starting around the time you switched? Which products specifically are you using?

It could also be a number of other things. Stress, health/nutrition, new medication.

Cate36
December 17th, 2018, 07:46 PM
My Advice would be to check underlying causes.. go to the doctor and get a blood test and hormone test to see if there are any deficiencies ... I did this and found myself low on 3 vitamins that are all essential to hair growth... yet I felt fine!

Ophidian
December 17th, 2018, 09:47 PM