PDA

View Full Version : Help for fine hair

Eireann
December 17th, 2018, 11:08 AM
I am growing out my natural color after covering the gray with henna and indigo for the last few years (before that it was conventional dye). I like that the henna/indigo gave my fine hair body, but I am excited to see how I look with long virgin hair. Does anyone have tips on ways to add body to fine hair? Thanks in advance.

Ylva
December 17th, 2018, 11:17 AM
It is unfortunately a thing that long, fine hair tends to be a bit lacking in the volume department. I know this is not helpful, but maybe it helps to know that it's not uncommon. I am a fine/medium mix and have absolutely no volume at the root. I've heard that some salt sprays can add body, I think they're called texturising sprays or something? But I have no experience of them and to be fair they sound a bit drying, so I wouldn't be keen on testing them either.

Sorry I can't be of any use here, just thought to add my two cents. :)

Eireann
December 17th, 2018, 11:20 AM
Thanks! I will try a salt spray.

Angelica
December 17th, 2018, 11:26 AM
I have lived with fine thin hair all my life. Hair that never grew up one hairdresser termed it as! When I was young, I had perms and that was really the only way I had body in my hair if I wished to wear it loose. I then turned to mousse and wearing my hair up. More recently I had it cut into a bob and have now got a fringe. I love long hair but my hair never grew to the great lengths that I would really like. French braids and pleats do look nice on fine hair though and when you take them out you will have a wave. I still use mousse or volume shampoos and conditioners and now that my hair has had a good cut I am liking it more. You have ii hair so body shouldn't be that much of a problem for you. Happy growing xxxxx

elsiedeluxe
December 17th, 2018, 11:36 AM